Sackful of Sovereigns Albums - In for a Penny

In for a Penny - April 2003

In for a Penny contains three new original "Sackful" tracks, one track with a "Sackful" tune and traditional words and four arrangements of traditional tunes.

The track listing is as follows :

In for a Penny

"Star of the County Down" Traditional arranged SofS.
"Barring of the Door" Lyric: Traditional, Tune: SofS.
"Dark Eyed Sailor" Traditional arranged SofS.
"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" Sackful of Sovereigns.
  Immortality ain't all it's cracked up to be.
"Scarborough Fair" Traditional arranged SofS.
  A dark arrangement of this traditional song.
"All for the Sake of the King" Sackful of Sovereigns -
  The battle of Roundway Down, just outside of Devizes, Wiltshire, took place during the   English Civil War on the 13th July 1643.
"In for a Penny" Sackful of Sovereigns.
"Blackleg Miner" Traditional arranged SofS.

Kevin Butler: Flute, Soprano Saxophone
Mark Griffin : Drums, Guitar, Voice
Denise Harrison : Voice, Bodhran, Percussion
Colin Harrison : Guitars, Keyboards, Voice
Steve Sawyer : Bass Guitar

Thanks to Nick Smith for guest keyboard on "Barring of the Door", Mike Gerrish for all his help and all of our supporters at the gigs.

Recorded May 2002 - March 2003 at Littleton Studios, Wiltshire, England.

Engineered, Produced and Mixed by Mark Griffin and Colin Harrison.

Mastered at www.littleton

The cover artwork is by Colin Harrison inspired by an idea by Mark Griffin (the white horse theme) and the track "All for the Sake of the King". The hill with the chalk logo cut into its side is "Oliver's Castle", the site of the Battle of Roundway Down in 1643.